For the Birds

For the Birds

Maybe it’s the woods, but it sounds like a bird sanctuary around our house. I need my birder friends to sit on the back porch with me. I will listen intently while we drink coffee and they tell me quietly what bird is singing each song. There are many songs I’ve never heard before, and my non-birder eyes don’t even see the birds very often.

Olde Dog’s Man installed a bird feeder, advertised as squirrel proof, for me right outside our dining room window. A squirrel found the bird feeder first and promptly broke off the bottom of the feeder by jumping from the branch. The bottom is now secure, but there is still a lot of bird seed underneath the feeder for the squirrels if they get tired of acorns.

There are seven cardinals in the bush behind the bird feeder with one of them on the ground. Five are males and two are females. And there are two small birds that I think might be Carolina Chickadees, here for the winter.

You’ll find me at the dining room window, watching the birds.

About Jaye Bee

Multitalented Farmer: chickens, eggs, truck garden, and of course, worms. Author, Storyteller, Listener, Observer. Love Jesus! Website: http://judithabarrett.com Copyright Notice This website and its content is copyright of J.A. Barrett © 2009-2017. All rights reserved. Thou shalt not plagiarize. (See Commandment #8)
Image | This entry was posted in Country Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

